Skip to content

Almost Baby Time!

August 14, 2006

Yesterday Tim and I were starting to wonder if our October baby had decided to be an August baby instead. About 3:30pm I started feeling some cramps, and by 5:00pm I was really feeling contractions. The doctor told me that if I feel more than 4 in one hour, I should go in to make sure that I wasn’t in labor. Well, it was pretty close, and yesterday evening I was pretty sure I was at that number,… considering they were coming every 15 minutes. But, around 10:00pm, after some pizza and relaxation they did tone down,… and now I have tightening and sore muscles, but without the actual painful contractions,… so it seems that everything is going better!

Why is it that every time I’m debating whether I should go to the doctor or not,… it’s the middle of the night or the weekend, and the only place open is the ER?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Catma permalink
    August 15, 2006 6:55 pm

    Isn’t that the truth and ER’s are so expensive even with insurance. That finger tip I got ripped off cost over 4 thousand dollars and that was for 1 Xray and 1 shot of pain killer and a plastic surgeon to put in a bunch of stitches. I guess stitches from a plastic surgeon cost more.

    It is scary being pregnant and trying so hard to do everything right and things seem to go wrong anyway. I am including some info on Braxton Hicks which is my non medical training diagnosis.

    What are Braxton Hicks contractions?
    Braxton Hicks are sporadic uterine contractions that actually start at about 6 weeks, although you won’t be able to feel them that early. You probably won’t start to notice them until sometime after midpregnancy, if you notice them at all (some women don’t). They get their name from John Braxton Hicks, an English doctor who first described them in 1872.

    As your pregnancy progresses, Braxton Hicks contractions tend to come somewhat more often, but until you get to your last few weeks, they should remain infrequent, irregular, and essentially painless. Sometimes, though, Braxton Hicks are hard to distinguish from early signs of preterm labor. Play it safe and don’t try to make the diagnosis yourself. If you haven’t hit 37 weeks yet and you’re having four or more contractions in an hour, or have any other signs of preterm labor, call your caregiver immediately.

    By the time you’re within a couple of weeks of your due date, these contractions may get more intense and more frequent, and cause some discomfort. Unlike the earlier painless and sporadic Braxton Hicks contractions that caused no obvious cervical change, these may help your cervix “ripen”: gradually soften and efface, and maybe even begin to dilate a bit. This period is sometimes referred to as “pre-labor.”

    I do not know if this helps but I wanted you to know and doctor’s don’t tell you much. If your water breaks go now, if the contractions are more often 4 in an hour call and maybe go okay.

    You are fine and I am glad you are keeping your sense of humor. Senses of humor tend to disappear the last little bit as time drags on forever. Good luck and I am thinking about you!!

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 17, 2006 10:10 am

    Oh my…it’s getting close…soon I’ll be Uncle Shaun…instead of “lazy f***”! By the by, I’ll be down in Pville on Thursday…or at least that’s the plan.

Leave a Reply

