Skip to content

Official Baby Plans

September 15, 2006

On my Google homepage, I have a little countdown clock,… and it informs me that there are officially 25 days until my due date. Of course I understand that the due date is simply an idea rather than a fixed timetable, but that little meter has helped me realize just how close we are all getting. Especially since I’m considered full-term in 4 days:)

It’s also apparent that I’m not the only one excited by how close everything is. It is getting impossible to call anyone without 5 minutes of reassurance that I’m not in labor, and I’m calling for something other than a ride to the hospital. I am not complaining about this, because having such caring friends makes me feel really warm and fuzzy inside,…. but I smile because they are excited with me!

So anyway, this is the official plan. I am under constant surveillance,.. in that people are always on call should I go into labor. Tim has 6pm – 7am covered, and weekends, of course. Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays Bianca is “on-call” until 3pm, when Shaun takes over. Tuesdays and Thursdays are covered by both Shaun and April,… depending on who I get ahold of first.

My hospital bags are all packed, with nightgowns and a very soft and luxurious new robe that cost far too much, but that I can’t help but feel all snuggled up in. I have the diaper bag packed with baby clothes for the hospital picture and the official homecoming, and we have the car seat base installed and the carrier waiting to be officially installed in the car. When I do have to go to the hospital, the only things that can possibly delay me are those pesky details I’ll be distracted by,… making sure the cats are okay,… making sure the stove and oven are shut off,… and (depending on how stubborn I am) taking a shower and shaving my legs. I really really want to NOT have hairy legs while delivering my baby.

You know, I talked about how I wish I was closer to my family now that I’m having our first child, and I do still feel homesick. But when it comes down to it, I have a really great family here in Platteville looking out for me. After all, friends are simply the family you choose, right? So I’m very blessed, because I have wonderful families no matter where I go:)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 15, 2006 12:49 pm

    and you always have a timmy đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

