Skip to content

Interesting Circumstances

September 20, 2006


The Mommy-Mobile
Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

This is a picture of my new minivan,… officially known as “The Mommy Mobile.” Which is much better than the name my sister came up with when she heard I had a minivan,…. “The Loser Cruiser.” When we went looking for a second vehicle, we were thinking a car,… hopefully a nice sedan (okay, so I wouldn’t have minded a nice red convertible, but I was realistic, okay?) or even a small pick up truck,…. but a minivan is taking a bit for me to get used to!

The story of how we got it is kinda interesting. I know that I mentioned that I am NOT a gambler. Tim, on the other hand, is the opposite of me,…. which is probably good for both of us. He makes me step out of my comfort zone, and I make him check and double check that we’re not doing anything irresponsible. I guess in general I win, since we rarely buy anything more than a lottery ticket here and there,… and that just for the pleasure of dreaming:)

Tim works in an office with a whole bunch of gamblers. They bet on everything. I’m sure right now there’s something with when I’m gonna give birth, how much the baby will weigh, who he looks more like, etc. Tim is very responsible at work, playing here and there, but nothing I find worrisome. One of the things they do is chip in $2.oo a week for the Powerball lottery.

This Monday, Tim went into work to discover that they had a 200K winning Powerball ticket. Split among everyone it wasn’t much,… but enough for my new van. Can you believe that we’re lottery winners? One more number and we’d have been millionaires,… but I’m just thrilled that we won anything at all. The great news is that my van was entirely paid for by lottery winnings,… no financing, no car payments, nothing. The Mommy Mobile is my free gift from the Iowa lottery:)

Baby news is slightly less encouraging. For the past couple of days, my pee looked like cranberry juice, and there’s some concern that I might be developing preeclampsia. For now it seems to only be a concern. I’m on some medications, and there is a chance I might be induced soon,…. we’re waiting for the results of a “cranberry juice” culture and blood work. The good news is that the baby’s heartbeat is going strong, so there is nothing to worry about yet.

And one last happy thing,…there are signs (involving mucus, if you must know) that my body is getting ready to evict it’s little tenant,…. it seems likely that Gabe will be coming sooner rather than later!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 20, 2006 9:05 am

    I am glad you like your mommy mobile

  2. Catma permalink
    September 21, 2006 3:50 am

    Wow, a lottery winner with a new Mommie mobile, how cool is that. The best treatment for preeclampsia is to induce labor. Back in my day, I fell. The baby seemed to stop moving, actually he had shifted into the birth canal. I was already overdue so the doctor induced. It was simple back then, a probe inserted and the bag of waters pierced and let the fun begin. I imagine since you are far enough along and Gabe is healthy they might just give you a head start on holding that little guy or your own body might just go on ahead and flip the labor switch. My thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope all goes well and you and Gabe are two separate people soon. I will check back often to see if the word is given. Good luck Heather!! Stay strong.

  3. holly permalink
    September 21, 2006 2:44 pm

    Congrats on the new van. With little ones, vans are a heavensend. We had one for several years, then one day I realized that car seats were behind us, and I was ready for something more “holly”. Somedays I miss my van, though…

Leave a Reply

