Skip to content

Last Minute Romance

September 26, 2006

I think it’s kinda obvious that I’m a planner. After all, Halloween isn’t even here, and I’m getting set for Christmas. (If it helps, I’ve been chomping at the bit for the past month to hang my pumpkin lights, and apple cinnamon scent has been wafting through our house for several weeks now. So at least I’m consistent.) And I can’t help but try to plan some of the parenting details I know are coming.

Because of my younger siblings, I’m well aware of the upset that a new baby brings to a house. In a single minute, roles are changed, and the past is gone forever. And I’m looking forward to this,… but I want to make sure that the changes Tim and I (and Gabe) go through are healthy and happy ones.

Last night Tim and I had the most romantic evening in recent history. We lit candles in the living room, and just cuddled together,… then ordered a very romantic pizza (and just so you know, the lasagna pizza from Pizza Hut is wonderful!) and played Legos Star Wars until bedtime. This is most likely not a popular idea of romance,… but I loved just being with Timmy. I feel a bit protective of our time together, since I know it’s easy to lose focus of each other in focusing on the baby. We’ve talked about that, and we want to make sure that doesn’t happen to us. Although since we truly love pizza and gaming dates, I’m thinking it will be easier to connect than if we required steak dinner and theatre dates:)

Tim’s knee has been bothering him a little bit, so he slept on the couch last night. I wanted to keep him company, but since the couch isn’t quite big enough for two, I slept on the recliner next to him instead. Which was very nice,…. I kept waking up with cramps, but they didn’t seem severe enough to take seriously. It’s hard not to analyze each and every twinge while waiting to go into labor, but I was very good,… I simply told myself that if it was the real thing, I’d find out soon enough, and I went back to sleep. Ahhh,…sleep:)

There is so much I need to get done,… laundry and dishes,… general cleanup and putzy details, yet I just don’t have the “oomfph” to get it done. I suppose it would help if I was not sitting here typing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    September 26, 2006 2:54 pm

    heather, thanks for the info about the lasagna pizza, I’ve been wanting to try it. It’s so good that y’all are trying to spend as much time together as possible.

    I agree that your simple dates will probably make it easier to carry them on after Gabe’s arrival.

    all those things that need to be done, well they’ll still be there when you finish blogging. take the time to enjoy yourself, the time will all too soon be a precious commodity.

Leave a Reply

