Skip to content

Nesting? Or just Compulsive?

September 29, 2006

Earlier this summer I went into a cleaning frenzy, mopping all the hardwood floors, deep cleaning the kitchen and bathroom, wiping out spiderwebs,… basically declaring open season on anything not sparkling. Maybe it was that pesky nesting instinct,.. but I think it’s much more likely I had a sudden surge of energy (very rare this pregnancy) and could finally do some of the things that had been irritating me since we moved in.

Yesterday I had another sudden surge of energy, or at least a noticable lack of contractions and back-ache, so I got into another fit of cleaning. This time I tackled our bedroom, which was missed in the last cleaning frenzy, mostly because no matter how much energy I might have had, it wasn’t enough to organize THAT mess! Tim has gotten into the spirit of things,.. he plans on rearranging the furniture in there this evening, and getting everything optimally organized. I just feel good that most of our house is now clean,… putzy clutter not included, of course.

Although I still don’t think it was “nesting”. I think I just wanted to have a clean bedroom when our house is the hub of family activity next week. And it’s not like I’m gonna feel like cleaning soon after labor, right?

I have a doctor’s appointment this afternoon, then Tim and I (and probably Shaun) are going to run to the laundromat and get all the laundry put away. I have a bit of sweeping and vacuuming to do in the living room, and I have to find a place for all the boxes Bob and Gloria brought with them last weekend. I love presents, but I think I officially ran out of room a few weeks ago!

Wednesday seems both soooo far away, and soooo close. I guess that’s the result of being both excited and nervous. Although I tell you, if one more person asks me how they should plan, I think I’m going to let them have it. I can honestly say that I’ve never done this before, and I have no clue what’s going to happen. We’ll all figure it out when the time comes, okay?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    September 30, 2006 6:52 pm

    you do realize that there’s the possibility that all of this planning may backfire and you go into labor before wednesday…like maybe tuesday night. would that be funny ha-ha, or funny ironic? oh, well, either way, it will have great rewards. kudos for all the cleaning you’ve accomplished. I always dread doing it, but when it’s done, you just feel so good.

    we’re praying for y’all.

  2. Catma permalink
    October 1, 2006 9:51 am

    Time flies, you are becoming a mother, I am a photographer. There is another photographer on Flicker who lives about 90 or so miles down the road and he has some fantastic work, so do I. He is on disability and is very shy, and will never do anything with his work which is a shame, he is good. I am shy and I will never do anything with my work either which is another shame. I had a man who is a professional tell me in a way that I could understand that I am already where I was trying to get and had not noticed. He called me the most create photographer on Flicker, not the best the most creative, wicked creativity. I called it playing, I called it obsession, addiction, but he used other words. Tenacity, application, love were ingredients I needed and I had all three. Damn, I went back and looked and discovered that I had arrived I just did not know it.

    There are a lot of photographers in the world so how to be set apart, different. I thought about Bob, I thought about me and idea was born. Neither one of us alone is ambitious, together we are a force. Three times lately our pictures ended up side by side in groups, that is pretty odd, not once, not twice but three times. The cosmos was talking to me. I went to the girl scout store with my granddaughter. I saw a shirt that said defy the ordinary. The clerk said they could order it in a 2X which is still a girls size but big girls. She brought one out to show me the size and it said Defy self doubt. The cosmos is yelling now. Okay, I said okay, and then when I got home I had a email from another professional about a silly poster I just thrown together in two minutes. He said with a little tweak that it was professional quality. Damn that was three signs again.

    I wrote to Bob and proposed we consider a joint venture, possibly BLUE RIDGE CONTINUUM from one extreme to the other. we both live in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia. His vast expansive mountain scenes, my intimate delicate wild flowers in matching hues. His the large manly rugged, mine the delicate, feminine. I ran it by him and he is willing. I ran it by a professional photographer I know and she thinks we are perfect together and it will be good for both of us. It had me up most of the night in excitement. This morning I went out and took some of the best work of my life. It is going so fast my head is spinning but it will happen. I walked right by my anniversary gift. It is no small thing, it is 180mm macro lens. It is sweet action and so big that you can stay back and still get the shot. I did a rain drop on a rose that was about the size of the head of a pin and you could see a rose bud refracted in it. I am in love. That lens cost $1400 so I better try to sell some pictures. We both are getting big changes in our lives. I am happy. I hope Gabe gets here soon. You liked my work and gave the courage to blog a second time. I wrote about this in my blog this morning. It has only been 16 months as a photographer, a year with the Rebel. When that man said that for me to be doing what I with my level of experience it is like an 8th grader writing like Faulkner. Damn!! Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

