Skip to content

Tick (eternity) Tock (eternity)…

October 3, 2006

Every second seems to be an eternity at the moment. I know that in 24 hours I will be at the hospital, working on meeting Gabe for the first time face to face. I’m not sure if I’m more nervous because I’ve never gone through this before, or instead because I’ve been present for two labors and I do (kinda) know what’s coming!

Tim and I went out to dinner last night,.. our last hurrah together alone for awhile. We drove up to Madison and just enjoyed each other’s company. It was my idea,… I just wanted him to know how special he is to me. I have so many hopes and dreams for this little baby,.. I want him to be happy and healthy,.. I want him to grow up to be a strong and kind man,… and I know that I have such a huge influence in his life. That kind of scares me,… there’s a tremendous sense of responsibility that comes with the choice to be a parent. One of my greatest comforts is knowing that Tim will be my partner in this.

Tim is the kindest person I know. I feel safe with him near, and I know I always have a support network with him around. I can bounce my thoughts off him, and he’ll be honest with me. I can tell him everything, and trust that the secrets I share are safe, and will never be dragged out at a later date to wound my heart. I know that he will be kind with our son,… that he will be a constant presense in his life,… that he will play with him, teach him, and love him unconditionally. I love Tim for that.

I am scared about the responsibility of being a good parent,… but I am excited about it too. I will not be alone in this,… I have the best companion in the world at my side,… and our baby is the luckiest baby in the world because of who his daddy is. My son will have more than just a father,… he will have a Dad. Thank you Tim, for being who you are.

(I love you to infinity and beyond +1!!!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    October 3, 2006 2:41 pm

    Heather, you’re gonna be a great mama, and the relationship that you and daddy have will make you fantastic parents.

    Good luck tomorrow. You’ve got prayers comin from down my way. I can’t wait to see pictures.

  2. Catma permalink
    October 5, 2006 12:56 pm

    Hoping for good news soon, you will be a wonderful mother, this is so sweet.

Leave a Reply

