Skip to content

Welcome Baby Gabriel!

October 7, 2006


Baby Gabriel
Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

This is my son, Gabriel Kristian. He’s the cutest baby I’ve ever seen (although I may be biased!) and I’m completely in love with him. He was born on Wednesday, October 4th at 4:14pm, and weighed 5 lbs, 9 ozs then and is 19″ long.

It was a bit of an adventure getting him into the world. Tim and I had to be at the hospital by 7am, and I was hooked up with my water broken by 7:30 or 8. Labor progressed throughout the day, but some unexpected things happened.

Baby Gabe apparently liked the idea of a long and painful labor even less than I did,… there were a few signs of fetal distress as the labor progressed. The doctor and nurse very carefully monitored the situation, and we tried everything to have a natural (vaginal) delivery, but the safety of Gabe came first. So I was wheeled in for an emergency caesarian section, and have the scar to prove it!

Recovery has been difficult. We spent a little extra time in the hospital so I would be able to recoup better,… so we had our homecoming this afternoon. Gabe is doing wonderfully (as are his parents) and is a dream baby,… he is happy and hardly ever cries,… and is a natural at nursing. We’re having a great time!

I’ll talk more later, but I have to go cuddle my baby right now. Thank you for all your prayers, they were very much appreciated!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    October 7, 2006 8:07 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!! Babies are so exciting, it almost doesn’t matter that you don’t get to sleep as much as your body would like. He’s beautiful, Heather, great job.

  2. Amanda permalink
    October 9, 2006 4:04 pm

    He is such a cutie and I’m glad that he didn’t come out with a full beard like all of the pictures I had in my head 🙂 …and let me know when you’re feeling up for a short visit so I can drop off the present…also let me know if there are any baby things you guys need or would like…and if you need a babysitter ever…let me know!
    love ya
    Amanda

Leave a Reply

