Skip to content

First Doctor’s Visit

October 9, 2006


Tiny Tiny Baby
Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

I took a picture of my hand by Gabe’s head to try to show how tiny he really is. He’s not so happy with me, since I was trying to line up the camera, and he was trying to sleep.

He had his first doctor’s appointment today. We have to go in a little more often than normal because of Gabe’s low weight, but I’m a little relieved to have the extra supervision,… that way, if I am doing something wrong, they’ll catch it before it becomes a big problem. And all the news was great! When Gabe was born, he was 5lbs, 9ozs, but with the weight loss that is normal for newborns, he was 5lbs, 3ozs when we left on Saturday. I was very worried because he just doesn’t have anymore weight to lose. Today we found out he has almost gone back to his birth weight,.. only one more ounce to go! I guess feeding him and pumping milk so that he could get every drop he could hold is doing some good! And his jaundice is really, really low, so even that is clearing up. I’m so happy I could just cry.

I’m doing okay, although things could be better. When I got my epidural, the anesthesiologist accidentally went in wrong, and I now have a “spinal headache” which is pretty much a pounding headache that no pain reliever can help,… and which lasts up to 10 days. Granted, the epidural was worth it (especially since I’m quite sure I didn’t want to feel that caesarian!) but I could just cry at the extra bit to endure right now. Only crying would make it worse. Sigh.

I’m just so happy that Gabe is doing even better than we could have hoped for. Please keep him in your prayers still,… and thank you for the ones extended already:)

One Comment leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    October 11, 2006 8:18 am

    Heather, I’m so glad little Gabe is doing well, the whole weight thing when they’re that little is nerve-racking. I’m sorry that you’re having this headache, though. I hope it gets better soon.

    Love,
    holly

Leave a Reply

