Skip to content

Hungry Baby

October 16, 2006

Gabe has been growing by leaps and bounds,… I’d almost say that you can watch him put on weight. He has the start of rolls (just the tiniest hint, really) on his little chicken legs, and his cheeks are so pudgy you can’t resist kissing them.

Gabe is eating more and more,… and he’s getting better at it. When we were first trying to learn breastfeeding it took him almost an hour to get a meal, but now he’s quite streamlined,… he swoops in and gets everything he can hold, then he falls asleep. Still sucking. I feel like such a pacifier!

Since I’ve been home, I’ll pump milk when I can to help out if he ever needed a bit extra. The pediatrician wanted me to offer Gabe formula at the end of feedings to make sure he was satisfied, and I just didn’t want to do that unless I had to. I’m Gabe’s personal cow, and I’m very jealous of that!

Tonight that all changed. This afternoon Gabe ate the last of my pumped milk and tonight he wanted more than I had. It felt like such a failure to mix up the formula, but at least I know he’s filled, and I did my best. I just don’t want to have to do it again!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 16, 2006 9:18 am

    The little piggy 😉 you are doing a great job and I love you.

  2. Jason&Mandi permalink
    October 16, 2006 9:53 pm

    There are some WONDERFUL resources out there for brestfeeding moms — freely take full advantage of them if you’re ever getting worried. If it weren’t for support, I would never have been able to breastfeed Zander. See if your hospital has a lactation support team and I’m sure there is a Le Leche League in your area. They are all over the place! http://www.lalecheleague.org/Web/Wisconsin.html

    Also, Heather, if you’re feeling the baby blues, don’t be afraid or feel weak to reach out. You can call me if you want to, because I know better than I like to remember what you’re going through. I was not “mentally well” at ALL for some time… You can ask me about it.

Leave a Reply

