Skip to content

Mommy Wellness

October 23, 2006

Last Thursday I wrote a really depressing post,… it was just a depressing day. I was worried about Gabe, since he had not pooped in a while, and wasn’t eating. We ended up going to the doctor’s office,…. where Gabe then proved my a liar by pooping AND eating while in the office! The doctor laughed and said that was why we came in,…. just so Gabe would do that. I couldn’t hide my tears, and told the doctor exactly how I felt, and he was worried that I might be experiencing post-partum depression, and gave me a prescription for an anti-depressant, should Tim and I decide that I should take them.

Well, later that night I ended up in the Platteville hospital’s emergency room,… it turns out that my incision was/is infected. I had gone in for a wound check a couple of days earlier because it felt “wrong” but was told everything was good,…. I really wanted to say “I told you so!” but that just seemed childish. Friday I was sent to to doctor who had done my caesarian, who poked and prodded my tummy more than I could stand,… frankly I’ve had it up to here with hospitals and doctor’s offices and poking and prodding and medicines and saying “Ahhh”. Ironically, the infection was a really good one,…. with red streaks going up my abdomen and intense pain. I’m on antibiotics (yes, more medicine!) and things are looking up,…. my wound has been draining ever since Saturday, and I’m no longer in pain at every moment. Now it’s decreased to every other moment!

Part of my panic over breastfeeding was over indications that I was “drying up” and losing my milk. I can’t tell you all how many tears I cried over that,… it just felt like I was completely inadequate as a mother,… I couldn’t even feed my son right. Thankfully since my infection has been treated my milk production has also gone up, and we’re back to bonding! I only pump to store all the extra milk!

And I’m not going to take those anti-depressants,…. I feel like I’m in a better place now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Catma permalink
    October 23, 2006 11:47 am

    You are fine, child, that is just what pain does to the body, trust me, I have been undergoing my own melt down or I would have been here for you. Email me if you need to talk. If you could not feed him at all it would still be okay. It is the love not the liquid that matters. If you need me holler.I am still around. I am puppy sitting. We got another puppy, I think that makes 14 between two households.

Leave a Reply

