Skip to content

One Month and Counting (Up)

November 6, 2006


Encore
Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

I tried blogging a couple of times in the past couple of days, but it never seemed to work out. Perhaps trying to type out a post one-handed is not the best use of a new mommy’s time. Anyway, Gabe is (tentatively) sleeping at the moment. so I thought I’d catch you all up on the details of life here.

Gabe had his one month check up on Thursday, and the doctor was thrilled with his growth. Gabe was then 8 pounds 1 ounce, and he’s grown to 21 inches. When he was born he was in the 5th percentile, but now he’s in the 25th percentile, which is tremendous growth and improvement for one month! Tim and I can’t wait to see how big Gabe is next month, especially with the amount he’s been eating lately! Although we’re pretty sure a good amount of what he eats ends up in his diapers,…. you should see some of his surprises! We do prefer that he keeps those surprises IN his diaper,… he also seems to enjoy relieving himself just after we take off that terribly restrictive diaper!

I’m doing better too. Last night I went out for a run,… it was the first attempt at exercise since I had Gabe. I didn’t actually run, but I did enjoy a very nice long walk. Hopefully I’ll not only get my tummy muscles tighter, but I’ll lose some of that extra weight. Tim and I are trying to be healthy parents, and our biggest challenge since we quit smoking is to get to a healthier weight. I feel good, and want to feel even better about myself!

I have not figured out how to take care of a demanding baby and keep up on my housework, but I’m getting better at sleeping. Tim was an absolute sweetheart this weekend and took over most of Gabe’s feedings and cuddlings and diaper changes and clean-ups,… just so I could sleep. It was wonderful; I was so happy I could have had Tim’s babies,…. except that I already did that!

Things are easing up, and both Tim and I are truly enjoying being parents. I love my little family!

One Comment leave one →
  1. hollyhttp://hockamama.wordpress.com permalink
    November 11, 2006 10:24 pm

    good luck with the healthier lifestyle, I’ve heard it can be done. (tongue is in cheek) You know, mama’s used to tell me that the housework would be there later, but those baby moments won’t last long. It’s so true, besides anybody coming to the house is there to see y’all, not the house.

Leave a Reply

