Skip to content

Sleep Deprivation and Baby Smiles

November 17, 2006

Last night Gabe was again fussy. His little body is protesting the switch to formula, and I really feel for him. We had a slightly better evening this time,.. Gabe cried all evening, perplexing poor Daddy. I got to sleep through that, although I did not sleep very well. I don’t think there is a mother out there who can truly sleep well while her baby is crying. Just saying.

Anyway, I got up around midnight-ish to take over for Tim, who needed some sleep in order to function at work today. Gabe, in that sweet innocent baby way, proceeded to fall asleep, and stayed that way for an hour or more, while I was able to sleep a little longer than I had planned on. He woke up around 1:30 and fussed until about 4:30, but then again fell asleep (in my arms!) until 8:30 this morning. I feel positively luxuriated in sleep at the moment!

It does seem that Gabe has his days and nights confused though, since he has his most alert time in the middle of the night, and tends to sleep more of the day away. Unfortunately it’s never an independent sleep, but rather a “I need to know there is somebody right by me,…” kind of sleep, with lots of restless grunts and groans if I put him in his crib.

I can’t help but enjoy that alert time a bit though,.. even though I’d rather be sleeping. Last night Gabe paused his fussiness to give me a big smile while I was singing to him (yes, even he thinks my voice is funny!) and we spent a good while talking together. I’m not sure what makes these things more appealing to Gabe at night, since we do this during the day too.

I really can’t wait until we visit family next week,… hopefully Gabe loves being held by them, and I can take a long and uninterrupted nap. *Yawn*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry Nottingham permalink
    November 18, 2012 9:47 pm

    Sleep deprivation can really wreck havoc on any ones health. *

    Have a look at all of the newest article at our blog site
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-side-effects/

  2. May 16, 2016 7:00 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on blog. Regards

Leave a Reply

