Skip to content

Wedding in Retrospective

December 11, 2006

Yesterday was Tim’s and my first wedding anniversary. We’ve been married for a whole year! Actually that feels a bit weird, since Tim and I have been together for closer to 4 years, and seriously committed to each other for much of that time. And I can honestly tell you that we are only growing stronger in our committment to each other:)

Last night we watched our wedding on DVD together, and commented on various things that we liked, that we would have changed, and so on. We decided that we still like our chosen readings a year later. I remember how anxious I felt about that,… wondering if people would understand that we were choosing readings that we found personally inspiring. Because of Tim’s background in Political Science we chose a statement by a Supreme Court Justice on the social impact of marriage,…. I chose and adapted a story by Plato that I had loved since I first heard it as a little child (It was a bit of a surprise to find out it was credited to Plato!) and we chose a reading that we felt exhorted on the responsibility of love by L’Engle, one of my favorite childhood authors.

We absolutely loved our minister, who shared a great message without tiring out the audience, and who had enough of a sense of humor to keep everyone engaged! He explained to the audience what our vows meant, truly meant, and I know his message inspired me as I pledged myself to Timmy.

I look back at my wedding day, and I remember most feeling surrounded by love. My family, the people I love, were there and surrounding me. My brothers John and Tom stood by my side as groomsmen while my sisters LeeAnn and Becca were my maids of honor,… My little brother Daniel walked me down the aisle to Tim and helped support me in more ways than he realized during that walk,… my mom did everything she could to make my day perfect, and while nothing in this world is truly perfect, my wedding day came close! I married into a family that I truly feel a part of,.. I love my new family and am proud to be an Edwards!

But it would be impossible to talk about being surrounded by love and not mention Tim. I married a man who loves me completely,… I don’t have to hide anything,.. not my opinions, not my feelings, not anything. It’s not that we agree on everything (because believe me! We are both extremely stubborn and opinionated!) but rather that we recognize each other as a complete person, valid in our own right. We both are trying to learn the lessons taught us by relationships around us-both successful and failed.

You could say that our chosen readings reflect our thoughts on our marriage,… we know that we have to work for it, that we may have to fight for it on occasion,… we know that our committment will not always be warm fuzzies,… but it doesn’t matter. “Til death separates us” means just that (did I mention we’re very stubborn?). I love my husband, and I do enjoy warm fuzzies of emotion every time I think of him,… and I hope that the effort we put into making sure our relationship is healthy now means that we still have those warm fuzzies on our 50th wedding anniversary!

(Which is ONLY 49 years away!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 11, 2006 10:03 am

    49 more? how about 109 more πŸ˜‰

  2. Heather permalink
    December 11, 2006 10:06 am

    I’m okay with that,… but if we’re going to add to it, how about we just go to “INFINITY! and BEYOND! + 1!) I’ll love you that long,… for starters πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

