Skip to content

Goodbye 2006, Hello 2007!

January 3, 2007

I’ve spent most of today remembering the special lessons that 2006 taught me, some of which I will share here:)

Mommy Lessons:

1. When it’s YOUR baby’s poopy, it really doesn’t smell as bad. Really. (Are you convinced yet?)2. Morning sickness is mis-leading. It should be called “Any time of the day or night sickness”.

3. Lucky Charms cereal tastes the same whether it’s going down or coming up.

4. Spagetti is NOT morning sickness friendly!

5. All that cute baby stuff is very under-appreciated by the baby.

6. Young babies do have a sense of humor – that’s why they giggle as they’re filling their diaper.

Other Lessons:

1. If you’re going to win the lottery, make sure you match the Powerball too. It’s the difference between a minivan and a private jet:)

2. Long lost friends are wonderful things to find:)

3. Babies soften even the hardest hearts – but can’t fix every relationship.

4. True friends are the people who drop everything to babysit so you can take a shower.

Most of what made 2006 special for Tim and I were wonderful surprises, and I can’t help but wonder what wonderful surprises 2007 has in store for us. I know I hope we can spend more time with our family and friends, I hope I can get back into my studies while finding an alternative to daycare for Gabe, and I hope to become a better and better mother for Gabe and wife for Tim as we go along.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kelly permalink
    January 4, 2007 9:12 am

    hi heather,just wanted to say “hi” . i knew you when you were maybe 18 ? but i knew your mom more :)she wrote me such a sweethearted letter when we moved away. if you have an email for her- id like to say hi-she always made me smile and always seemed to understand when id comment on raising bunches of lil children:) or is there an email i can email you at rather than commenting so you dont have to post her email online? i always smile when i hear new -mommies -to- be talk of how they think or feel prepared because theres just NOTHING that prepares you for those first few weeks of motherhood (or even that horrible mnths on end of morning sickness!) and it sounds like youve discovered that ;0)!its very very hard but very worth it! and if you remember ? our 3 boy we named gabriel also. :)youve got good taste!

  2. Heather permalink
    January 4, 2007 2:31 pm

    Hi Kelly:)

    I’m not sure how else to contact you, so I hope you read this! My mom doesn’t actually have email (or a computer, for that matter!) but I did read your message to her over the phone. I also put my email in my profile, so I hope that helps out.

    And I guess great minds think alike, huh? I’m pretty attached to the name Gabriel too:) And you are completely right,… I tried to be as prepared as I could be before Gabe came,.. but there is really nothing like holding that little one in your arms and feeling all the “mommy emotions”.

    Thanks for contacting me (and Mom!). It is very nice to hear from you:)

    Heather

Leave a Reply

