Skip to content

The Amazing Baby!

February 16, 2007

Tim and I are sitting back and relaxing tonight and gearing up for what will most likely be an exhausting weekend. He’s sitting in the recliner watching Stargate SG-1 and I’m sitting here at the computer checking my email and listening to Gabe snore sleep over the baby monitor. Sometimes it just feels good to do nothing.

Tomorrow Gabe’s Grandma and Grandpa (my in-laws) are coming, and I plan to wake up early to work on laundry and general clean-up before they come. I can imagine that they’ll be surprised at just how much bigger Gabe is,… heck, I’m surprised at how much heavier he seems day to day!

I also am becoming more and more convinced that Gabe is a fast developer. Today he put together a very complex babble word, “brackle” and turned the pages in a plastic baby book. It’s so cute to watch him work on details, since he’s obviously trying to problem-solve and often comes up with interesting solutions. Today he couldn’t get his hands to grasp the book AND flip through it,… so he held the book tight in his feet and used his hands to turn the pages (and then stuff them in his mouth of course).

He’s also started “helping” with diaper changes, both lifting his legs up (forming a C) when I’m pulling the old diaper off and lifting his butt off the table with his feet when I’m slipping the new one under him. Granted, this isn’t always a genuine help, but I can’t help but feel all warm and fuzzy when I realize that he’s growing into such a sweet little boy:)

I’m also starting to wonder if Gabe’s first word is actually “hi” since he seems to say it whenever Bianca walks in the door or I first pick him up out of his crib in the morning. But most of the baby books I’ve read say that any words Gabe “says” at this point will be by accident, so I’m not actually putting much emphasis on that. Or the “mamamama” that he says occasionally,… and Tim isn’t reading into the “dadadada” either – although it’s hard not to get excited.

You know, considering the man I married, and considering that Gabe takes after him in so many ways, I’m betting that a year from now I’ll be blogging about the amazing moment when Gabe WASN’T chattering away! And I’m looking forward to it:)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    February 19, 2007 11:37 am

    Are you saying I talk a lot???? 😉

Leave a Reply

