Skip to content

A Good Visit Despite Blogs to the Contrary

February 27, 2007


Group Effort
Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

I re-read the post I wrote about my sibling’s visit last night and had to laugh at myself. If I based my opinion of the visit on that, I’d think it was terrible! (It wasn’t.) I guess I was just showing my desperate need for a nap.

I uploaded a few pictures,.. I took many, many more than I’m sharing, but I had a problem. My siblings + camera = silly faces and poses. This one made me laugh. I hope you don’t mind my editing job,… I just decided to protect Gabe’s privacy a bit, considering the anonymous nature of the internet in general.

I always enjoy a visit from my siblings,… my sisters and I spend more time laughing than anything else, and Danny makes me feel loved and warm and fuzzy with all his hugs and little thoughtfulnesses. Yes, the place gets a little messy and unpredictable,… but it’s a wonderfully fun and happy messy and unpredictable.

I was pleasantly surprised at just how much Gabe liked my siblings. Not only did he NOT cry when they held him,… he actually tried to wiggle out of my arms when they offered to hold him. Because that’s SO out of his ordinary behavior I can’t help but be a little amazed,.. in general he’s always “checking” to make sure I’m near. I do feel a tiny bit replaced, but at least I know he’s okay with his aunts and uncles babysitting him in the future!

Last night after sending my siblings back to Mom’s house Tim and I stopped for a bit in Madison,… we took Gabe to Build-A-Bear for his first “adopted” teddy bear,… Gabe picked out the bear and held on to it the entire time we were in the store,… the poor lady who stuffed it actually had to pry it out of his hands. I’m debating whether I should pick up another one,… if Gabe chooses that as his lovey then I might want a back-up for emergencies.

I also stopped at the bookstore for a casserole cookbook, and walked out with a pile of books. I’m probably most excited about a book detailing all the kings and queens of England, since I’ve always had a bit of a crush on European history. I think I’ve read dozens and dozens of books on King Henry the 8th and Anne Boleyn, so it will be interesting to read about the rest of the monarchy!

Tim and I also went out to eat, with Gabe, for the second time since October. Gabe charmed our server, who had a 3 month old of her own. We got to see pictures of baby Owen, who was just adorable. Chatting about babies made our dinner more enjoyable, although it did point out that our ‘grown-up’ lives are just plain over for the next couple of years.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    February 27, 2007 11:36 am

    Yay…and supper was wonderful last night 🙂

  2. March 3, 2007 7:30 am

    aren’t casseroles great? I love most things european; sometimes I dream of running away to ireland, or greece, or italy and becoming an expat. unfortunately, my husband would not go, and I’m just no good without him.

Leave a Reply

