Skip to content

*pant* Who Knew that Belly Dancing *puff* Could Be Such A Workout? *huff*

February 28, 2007

I thought another title for this post could have been “Chocolate: Terror on the Hips” but that just seemed much too Leo dramatic for what I intended. Although chocolate is part of my personal Axis of Evil. Forget Iraq or Iran,… I’m living in fear of the calories in truffles and brownies…

Actually, in most ways I’m pretty happy with my health level. Tim and I both quit smoking, we use olive oil in our cooking, and we’ve been working on eating more whole grains. We’ve also been cutting back on our meat consumption. I’m not talking about developing a vegan lifestyle,… we’re just trying to work on being healthier.

Unfortunately, we’ve hit a snag. Did you know it’s hard to exercise outside in Wisconsin in winter? And, even IF we find the motivation to freeze our butts toes off, we still have to figure out what to do with a baby,… since I’m taking a year off to be a stay-at-home-mom I can’t justify putting Gabe in daycare. So, more often than not I find myself planning an exercise routine that I will never actually implement.

However, I’ve just started a Belly Dancing fitness routine,… which involves some serious shimmies and shakes and cardio workouts. More often than not I get my exercise when I get unstoppable giggles from the way Gabe giggles at me while I’m doing it,… although (after a little more practice) I’m betting I get a different reaction from Timmy:)

Belly Dancing: Helping replace OLD pregnancy weight with NEW pregnancy weight!*

*Update: A friend emailed me and asked if I was pregnant after reading this post,… I’m not, but I can see how one could wonder. I was just pointing out the possible relationship between belly dancing and certain *ahem* activites that might possibly lead to gaining new pregnancy weight.

So no, I’m not pregnant:)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2007 1:53 pm

    Okay, I’m glad you addressed my email on this post.

    Why don’t you trust daycare? I have to ask this question because I’m nosy like that.

  2. March 3, 2007 7:32 am

    I’ve always heard that belly dancing was a good workout, but I haven’t worked up the motivation to try it myself. good luck.

  3. mikes gurl permalink
    March 5, 2007 4:20 pm

    belly dancing does work…. but there’s also another excersise alot of ppl say works out very well also!! lol 🙂 u know u love me!!!!!!!!

  4. mikes gurl permalink
    March 5, 2007 4:21 pm

    theres other “excersies” u can try…. lol

Leave a Reply

