Skip to content

A Boy and His Lungs…

March 8, 2007

I have a question. If talking to yourself is a sign of mental instability a brilliant mind, then what are the points for talking to an inanimate object? For that matter, what are the points for asking a computer monitor questions?!

I absolutely love my son, but yesterday was a trying day, what with the screaming and the yelling and the constant demands for my attention. I’d like to say that I handled everything with grace under pressure, and I did… if only wanting to shake your baby is graceful when compared to actually shaking him.

I was so drained from arguing with Gabe all day that I just kind of shut down yesterday evening. Tim got Gabe, and other than my help with bathtime and storytime, I stayed in the bedroom reading. Alone. Baby free. Or was that free baby?

This morning at 4:30 (A.M.!) I woke up to Gabe, laying in the crib, talking quite loudly. He was actually quite happily carrying on a loud, one-sided conversation. I’m quite lucky that Tim had the ability to get up and take Gabe to the living room for cuddling and bottles, since I just couldn’t. I’m not sure why, but I’m more tired than I’ve been since Gabe was born!

When Tim was leaving for work, he put Gabe back in his crib, hoping I’d be able to sleep while Gabe took a nap. Gabe had other ideas, such as returning to his (interrupted) conversation. I turned to look at him as he spoke loudly, and realized that he was holding his pacifier up and chatting with it.

My son? Spent most of the night entertaining himself with talking! to his pacifier!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    March 8, 2007 4:22 pm

    but he it was cute…how can you not laugh at the pacifier coversation 😉

  2. mikes gurl permalink
    March 9, 2007 4:10 pm

    very cute story.. i can only imagine when he gets older….

  3. March 10, 2007 7:31 am

    that is so sweet. he was obviously telling passie what a lifesaver it is when mama just doesn’t get what he’s trying to tell her. passie always understands. isn’t it awesome that mo matter how frustrated we get with our children, we love them more with each passing day? who would believe the strength of that bond, until you feel it?

    by the way, I love your pictures. he is just the sweetest, cutest little thing!

Leave a Reply

