Skip to content

I Think

April 20, 2007

I’ve been trying to avoid watching the news, because I don’t want to have to think about everything that is going on. I don’t want to think about the lives lost at Virginia Tech. I don’t want to be worrying about my friends in school here at UW-Platteville and wondering if there is a mentally disturbed person who might hurt them. I don’t want to worry about my brother in college in Appleton. I don’t want to worry about my sister in high school. I don’t want to worry about my other siblings in school.

I don’t want to think about the pro-life v. pro-choice debate, and the results of the recent Supreme Court ruling. I don’t want to think about the war in Iraq, or the maybe-war in Iran. I don’t want to think about the suicide bomber that attacked a hospital. I don’t want to think about the soldiers that are fighting a losing battle and will get to spend 15 months in a dry, arid hell rather than just 12. I don’t want to think about the abuse of power demonstrated by the Attorney General. I don’t want to think about all the children left behind.

I don’t want to feel like a powerless citizen in a society run by corporations.

But I’m not getting what I want. Today I saw a list of names of the people killed at Virginia Tech, and it made it painfully real to me. I am crying for people I don’t know,… I’m crying for a world that seems so dark,…

 vt.jpg 

Ross Abdallah Alameddine

Christopher James Bishop

Brian Roy Bluhm

Ryan Christopher Clark

Austin Michelle Cloyd

Jocelyne Couture-Nowak

Kevin P. Granata

Matthew Gregory Gwaltney

Caitlin Millar Hammaren

Jeremy Michael Herbstritt

Rachel Hill

Emily Jane Hilscher

Jarrett Lee Lane

Matthew Joseph La Porte

Henry J. Lee

Liviu Librescu

G.V. Loganathan

Partahi Mamora Halomoan Lumbantoruan

Lauren Ashley McCain

Daniel Patrick O’Neil

J. Ortiz-Ortiz

Minal Hiralal Panchal

Daniel Alejandro Perez

Erin Nicole Peterson

Michael Steven Pohle, Jr.

Julia Kathleen Pryde

Mary Karen Read

Reema Joseph Samaha

Waleed Mohamed Shaalan

Leslie Geraldine Sherman

Maxine Shelly Turner

Nicole White

(List from Virginia Tech’s website.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    April 20, 2007 1:27 pm

    ::Hugs::

Leave a Reply

