Skip to content

A Teething Fever? No! Yes! No! Yes!

May 9, 2007

Every odd-numbered article that I read regarding teething says that the fever babies often experience while teething is actually due to something other than the teething (not only is your baby teething, but he has something ELSE wrong too!) – which contradicts the even-numbered articles that say a low-grade fever is normal and caused by teething. For some strange reason I’ve got the feeling that nobody in the medical profession actually knows anything about teething, but that doesn’t mean they don’t have an opinion about it!

This reminds me of trying to follow all the different nurses advice while in the hospital just after Gabe was born – they all seemed to contradict each other, and I’d get in trouble at every shift change. (It’s really frustrating when one nurse insists that I don’t allow Gabe to nurse more than 10 minutes per side (I snuck in an extra 5 minutes before she made me stop!), only to have the next nurse accuse me of trying to starve my baby. Gah!) I’ve come to recognize that sometimes I have to do what feels like the right thing for my baby, since there’s always going to be somebody who thinks I’m a terrible mother for not doing the opposite. Warning: If you actually call me a terrible mother, I may have to pull your tongue out and stick it somewhere where I won’t ever have to see it again. I’m the mother of a cranky, teething baby – I’m capable of anything!

All I know is that Gabe got a fever while teething which ISN’T ear infection related – and Tim and I are not getting enough sleep.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelly permalink
    May 9, 2007 11:58 am

    As Alexis’s doctor always says, a mother knows best. Just remember i threw a nurse out of my room at the hospital beacause a mama bear will do best for her child.

  2. May 15, 2007 7:08 pm

    poor things, all 3 of you. sometimes, when you’re sleep deprived, it’s hard to focus on the discomfort the baby is feeling, rather than wish he’d just shut up…or maybe that’s just me.

    would a hug help? I can send one via osmosis

  3. nathalie permalink
    October 6, 2007 5:41 pm

    I can totally relate to your exhaustion and lack of info…my baby is 7 months old and i’m going through the same thing only my hubby is sleeping like a prince….i am soooooooooo tired me aside, what did it end up being we took our munchkin to the doc and as you mentioned he contridicted the doc at the hospital…they don’t seem to know a damn thing about it….did anything help?? i am still going through it….and he only wants mommmy……………………

Leave a Reply

