Skip to content

So Many Loved Ones, Such A Short Weekend!

May 16, 2007

Sunday was a new experience for me – it was my first Mother’s Day as an “official” mother. Last year I was pregnant with Gabe, but it just didn’t feel like I counted. Actually, I’m still not sure I count. Gabe is going on 8 months now and just getting into the hard-core miseries of teething – I’m feeling tired and worn out constantly, lonely and isolated rather frequently, and happy and thrilled whenever Gabe reaches out his chubby baby hands in the “I Want Mommy!” sign, but I’m not sure I’ve experienced enough to actually, truly be a participant on Mother’s Day. Maybe I’m just waiting for my first baby-goober kiss or a card with macaroni noodles glued to the front to believe that I “belong” to the ranks of mothers.

On Saturday Tim and I headed to Appleton because we had tickets to see The Lion King performed at the Performing Arts Center. Bob and Gloria, Mike and Ashley, and Brian and Rachel were there as well, and it was fun to not only see one of my favorite Disney movies brought to life in such a creative and unique way, but to be able to discuss it with family during intermission. I thought it was nice to dress up – I wore a skirt with an African-inspired print (it seemed appropriate) and gold threads woven through, with metallic gold high-heeled sandals. My feet certainly reminded me that I’ve not dressed up like that since Gabe was born, but it was SO worth it!

My brother Tom and his girlfriend Kate babysat Gabe while we were at the show, and thankfully he was well-behaved. At this point Gabe is INCREDIBLY attached to me, but he does let me go places as long as he likes the person he’s with. Thankfully, Tom is one of those people! They all had a blast, and the only casualty was a missing bottle. I do have a sneaking suspicion that Tom and Kate were secretly glad to see Gabe go as much as they were thrilled to see him come:o) I certainly understand that feeling – it was just a little bit nice to sit next to Tim without trying to keep my hair and glasses out of Gabe’s reach!

Sunday we had a wonderful lunch at my Mom’s house – chicken and dumpling soup with fresh baked bread, baked chicken, fresh veggies, apples with caramel and cookies were the “easy” menu items Mom had planned. It was nice to see my Grandma and Grandpa – and you would not believe how absolutely gorgeous my Grandma looks! She’s been dedicated to losing weight for my Aunt Arlene’s birthday party this July and she certainly has succeeded! (Actually, I think Aunt Arlene is my great-great-aunt, but that’s not only a much too long title, but she’s much too young-at-heart for that to work!) She’s been following a diet that is tailored to the dieter’s blood type, and absolutely swears by it, although I’m inclined to believe that her absolute dedication is really the key to her success:o)

Gabe and I also had a chance to visit with my Mom one-on-one. Because I have younger siblings still at home, Mom is sometimes so busy being a “Mom” that she doesn’t get to be “Gramma” as much as she’d wish. I enjoyed sitting outside in the grass, soaking up the sunshine while we chatted away. Honestly I AM a little jealous, since Gabe gave Gramma a goobery baby kiss, and he’s not given me one yet,… but I’m glad that my mom got to have that slobbery honor:o)

There was, of course, a “fly in the ointment” this weekend. Gabe is now old enough that he is used to our home here, and nothing else is quite as satisfying. The first night he was up fussing once an hour through the night, and the next night was even harder. He wouldn’t sleep unless I was holding him in a certain way,… and once I did get him to sleep in his swing, he woke up every little while wanting to be cuddled and reassured that I was there. I can honestly say that I bawled right along with him on a couple of occasions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    May 16, 2007 10:12 am

    I love you, and we make it through it together. 🙂

  2. May 18, 2007 10:04 pm

    OMG, Heather! He is just too cute! What a sweetie! Congratulations on the addition to you family 😀

  3. July 5, 2007 7:31 am

    Hello

    Great book. I just want to say what a fantastic thing you are doing! Good luck!

    G’night

Leave a Reply

