Skip to content

Sleep – Precious Sleep

June 7, 2007

I’m sitting here at the computer and wishing I was snoring alongside my Timmy instead. My back has been bothering me for a couple of days now, so I’m waiting for my pain med to kick in and let me lay down. I’m also enjoying a moment of Gabe-free time, which is becoming more and more infrequent.

Gabe is starting to grasp the concept of object permanence,.. I know this because he will cry and cry anytime I’m out of his sight, which includes every brief moment I step into the bathroom. He’s also not easily willing to sleep unless I’m right there next to him,… he’ll reach out, even in his sleep to touch and confirm my presence. Which, let me tell you, makes me feel loved beyond belief. Unfortunately, it also makes me wonder if solitude actually exists, or if I’d only imagined it for all those years!

We’re getting over a insidious bug – it includes all the symptoms of the stomach flu, but without the severity. I’ve had a tummy-ache, nausea and bloating all week, and I think the back-ache is another symptom. I can’t wait until this bug works it’s way out! Today I invented a chicken and dumpling soup, since I absolutely adore chicken soup, especially when I’m not feeling well,… and Tim loves dumplings. This time I made it really hearty, with homemade noodles and dumplings combined, and lots of veggies, including a decent dose of parsley. I don’t think I’ll try many other recipes,… this one was pretty much my idea of perfect!

I’m starting to fog out here, which means the hydrocodone is starting to work – so I wish you all a great night, and if I don’t get the chance to sit down and blog tomorrow (did I mention my constant companion?!?) have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2007 8:05 am

    It was nice to read about Gabe and how life with a small child is for other people 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

