Skip to content

Indulging My Inner Were-Bunny

July 2, 2007

Saturday Tim and I woke up early (5:30am) so we could head to the Dane County Farmer’s Market. We were excited to be getting out and doing something, and we were looking forward to seeing what the market was like, since Tim had only ever been at the Platteville Farmer’s Market and it’s been years since I was at a big market. After my shower, a pot of coffee and getting the Bug ready for travel, it was later than we planned (6:30am) but still a bit too early for my comfort.

The market was a blast! I bought tons of peas in the shell, some pre-shelled peas, Queen Anne cherries, organic strawberries, blackberries and raspberries, portabella mushrooms and oyster mushrooms, beets, tomatoes, kolarabi, some fresh cheese curds, black locust honey, whole grain breads, fresh bagels and other stuff. Our stroller was towering with produce – a most unusual baby!

One nostalgic moment: There was an organic beef farmer at the farmer’s market, and they reminded me of my Aunt Nola, who would take me with her to area farmer’s markets to sell organic beef. I remembered those early mornings and the french vanilla cappaccino we’d always treat ourselves to on the long drives. For a minute or two, I could almost smell the yummy coffee goodness, and I think I might just pick up a container of French Vanilla Cafe this week because it was a good memory.

Our friends, Bill and Kelly came to the market later in the morning, so we went through with them again. We had been thinking of visiting them at their house after the market, but with the huge amount of perishables in the back of our van and my sleep deprivation, we ended up just heading back after the market. I cleaned and stuffed our dehydrator with mushrooms and berries, and then napped with Bug.

I spent Sunday on the couch with a bit of a bug, which explained why I felt so run down and worn out on Saturday. Tim gave me the day “off” by taking care of Bug, and we watched movies and I played Diablo II. Oh, and we ate fresh and raw veggies!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    July 3, 2007 1:27 pm

    YUMMIES!!!!

Leave a Reply

