Skip to content

The Evilness of a Clean Floor!

July 11, 2007

Would you like a dead bug? Old fingernail clipping? Minuscule piece of onion skin? Unidentifiable chunk of something that was probably on the bottom of a shoe recently? Well, I happen to have a source for all these things, in apparently unlimited quantities. My little Bug, now that he’s super mobile, has been finding all sorts of gross things and keeping me on my toes trying to keep him clean and safe.

Part of the struggle with keeping him in a clean (enough) environment is finding the right time to vacuum. The Bug is simply terrified of the vacuum cleaner, which makes sense to me. If I was hung up in a doorway and unable to get away, I’d be afraid of a growling monster that gobbles up all those tasty snacks and bites the furniture too! Since I try to avoid several hours of comforting a terrified baby, vacuuming is done as a measure of last resort here.

But what I didn’t expect was the Bug’s reaction to my sweeping and mopping the kitchen floor today. He was tucked in his playpen so I could clean the floor enough for him to crawl on it, and I gave him some kitchen utensils to play with. I didn’t expect him to even notice me, since we have the same routine when I cook or attempt dishes. However, the Bug not only screamed incessantly the entire time I was holding the broom and mop, but he managed to stand up and JUMP UP AND DOWN in the playpen the entire eternity 15 minutes I was cleaning, while staring at me with real tears in his eyes. Considering he’s only been standing on his own since this weekend, that’s pretty impressive!

I’m going to guess that the Bug is not scared of the vacuum, but rather a clean floor. Ironic that he loves his bath so much, huh?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    July 11, 2007 9:11 am

    He is such a weirdo!

  2. July 11, 2007 9:13 am

    But in a good way!

Leave a Reply

