Skip to content

Silly, Silly Me

July 12, 2007

So, when I posted about the Bug and his hate of all clean floors yesterday, I made a seemingly innocent comment. A perfectly harmless taunt to the fates. A plea out to Murphy of Murphy’s Law. When I noted that it was ironic that the Bug loves his baths so much, it must have been like a giant “Kick Me” sign suddenly appeared above me, accompanied by otherworldly, maniacal laughter.

Okay, I’ll stop.

Anyway, I’d headed back to the kitchen with the Bug after his short morning nap and worked on cleaning and scrubbing the pots and pans. There was one from the night before that held a mixture of meat drippings, sauce and dressing bits, so I pulled the garbage out from it’s baby-proof home and scraped the very yucky stuff into it. I didn’t think anything of it as I turned to quick rinse the pot, since the Bug was busily playing with wooden spoons several feet away.

Oh, what a fool I was. Of course the Bug managed to not only stealthily and speedily crawl to the garbage, but by the time I’d plunked the pot into the sudsy water, he’d overturned the garbage – all over himself. His “uh oh” face would have been an amazing picture to have, but I was too busy racing him to the bathroom, pinning his oooy gooey hands and feet away from his mouth!

After a quick rinse complete with clothes and diaper, I stripped the Bug and he got to enjoy a quick if thorough bath – bubbles and all. He may have enjoyed it, but I was in the uncomfortable position of wanting to laugh, cry and yell, all at the same time!

After sanitizing the spill, I got back to the kitchen work, a pink and shining Bug in the playpen this time. Less that an hour later, I noticed a smell coming from said playpen. The Bug had filled more than his diaper, and it was all up the front of him,… including his belly button. Again with the bath – bubbles and all.

Just as a note – the Bug did NOT get an evening bath yesterday. I figured two was enough for one day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    July 12, 2007 9:57 am

    All I can say is I am sorry. 😦

  2. July 12, 2007 10:03 am

    I forgot to mention that yesterday he was YOUR son!!! 🙂

  3. July 15, 2007 9:18 pm

    I loved this post, heather! not until I was a mother, did I experience the desire to laugh/cry/yell at once. I’m sorry that I enjoyed your pain, but I couldn’t help it. 😀

Leave a Reply

