Skip to content

It’s Beginning To Look Alot Like Halloween?

July 26, 2007

Actually, it’s really beginning to look alot like “Back to School” (a shopping trend that is depressing many kids out there, but promises a chance to relax for their harried moms!) but Back to School is quickly followed by the black and orange of Halloween, and the retail mania of Christmas.

Every year I try to decide if my favorite holiday is Halloween or Christmas, and every year I can’t make up my mind. I love the apple cinnamony scent of Halloween, the crunch of fallen leaves, and the breathtaking beauty of reds, oranges, greens and various browns all melded together in an orgy of color. The fantasy of Halloween appeals to me as well, since for one night the imaginary becomes reality, and pretend becomes more than just a daydream. I love everything about fall, from apple picking to pumpkin carving, and during September and October, I’m absolutely positive that Halloween is my favoritest holiday ever.

However, as soon as October is a distant memory, I start to fall in love with Christmas all over again. I can sing my heart out to long-beloved Christmas carols while planning what Christmas presents will bring the biggest smiles to my loved ones’ faces. I love being able to turn on the television or radio and find positive messages and upbeat, happy themes replacing the usual fare. The smell of hot chocolate and fresh pine, combined with the sparkle of garland and the twinkle of lights makes me feel as if everything is just a little prettier and brighter. Traditions seem more important, and family is the focus,… at least in my little Christmasy world. And I decide that no holiday is better than Christmas.

I’m thinking about the holidays because I noticed Halloween and Christmas fabric prominently displayed in the craft department of a store I stopped at this evening. Not to mention, Tim and I are planning a weekend trip to an indoor waterpark as my younger siblings’ Christmas present this year. (Nothing says “I love you” like a weekend of tropical pleasures during a Wisconsin winter!) And last but not least, I’ve noticed that Joy to the World and O Holy Night are the songs I’ve been singing the most to Gabe lately. Poor kid – his Christmas music starts in July!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    July 27, 2007 8:55 am

    We are going to have soo much fun with Gabe and holidays aren’t we 🙂

Leave a Reply

