Skip to content

A Yearly Tradition

August 14, 2007

Last year at this time, I was very pregnant, in a house with limited air-conditioning, and nursing a very sick sister. This year I’m not pregnant, in a nicely air-conditioned house, nursing a very sore and hurting Timmy. Strangely I feel sort of pregnant (in a non-pregnant sort of way) since my tummy has been bothering me with cramps for a couple of weeks now off and on. I guess it really is true that the more things change, the more they stay the same. At least it’s cool in here!

Gabe is being a handful, doing everything he can to make sure we’re focused on him AT! ALL! TIMES! Which is okay with me, unless I want to go to the bathroom (which may explain all the tummy trouble), or clean anything, or cook, or read, or blog, or pretend to have any interests other than talking in a funny voice and tickling tummies. It isn’t easy being the object of infant obsession! He’s working on standing without support, and he’s trying so hard to do things for himself. We’re focusing more on solid foods now, with cheese, fresh fruit, sweet potato puffs, crackers and applesauce being the latest successes lately. We’ve also picked up a couple Baby Einstein videos, not for any educational benefit, but as a welcome distraction every now and then.

One last little thing: Yesterday we were shopping at the local grocery store and I noticed they had a whole section devoted to pumpkins and other fall decorations…. and it made me feel a little bit smiley inside!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Timmy permalink
    August 17, 2007 3:26 pm

    you mean you like fall and halloween??? 😉

  2. August 19, 2007 5:57 pm

    fall is my favorite time of year, although it’s also when my depression hits, go figure. it’s so exciting to see all the fall and christmas things in the stores!!

Leave a Reply

