Skip to content

GABE STANDS ALL BY HIMSELF!

August 18, 2007

Yes, I realize that typing in all caps means that I’m virtually shouting in your ear, but did you hear? Gabe stood up! Without support! Without hanging on Mama’s leg!

Gabe and I have been playing with blocks lately, which means that I race to build the highest tower I can before Gabe swipes it down to rubble. It’s actually a pretty fun game, especially when he is a bit slow and I can build a tower as tall as he is. Anyway, I was crawling around the living room floor, picking up that blocky mess when Gabe caught my eye. He was giving me the biggest grin I’ve seen on such a little face while standing there, balancing. Of course he plopped onto his diapered rear end a few seconds later, but it was a really big first. I couldn’t help but hug him because he was so cute and SO BIG!That was on Thursday (I think) and no repeats so far, but he’s been more active, so I know it’s only a matter of time before he’s running into trouble rather than crawling into it.

Also, is it an ominous sign that those little newborn sleepers are looking pretty cute and darling? It’s probably a side effect of the increased sleep I’ve been getting lately, but I’m starting to miss having a tiny little one to cuddle. I suppose that I’ll busy myself with all my current projects, like preparing for Gabe’s first birthday and making him a cotton quilt because he’s a big boy and big boys get blankets in bed – it may be safer for babies to sleep without blankets, pillows or stuffed animals in their crib that first year, but it doesn’t look very comfortable!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 20, 2007 4:22 pm

    Aww…I can’t wait to see that cute kid again. I told him not to grow up too much before I get to see him again, but I’m starting to think he wasn’t listening.

Leave a Reply

