Skip to content

Matchmaker, Matchmaker, Make Me A Match…..**

September 28, 2007

Last year Tim and I decided that the very last weekend we had to spend together as a two-some – before Gabe was born, lest any perverts read that wrong! – should be spent doing something special and celebratory. Since there are pesky restrictions on alcohol intake for pregnant women (we grew up and live in Wisconsin. I’m pretty sure some people think beer is fine for babies, as long as it’s in a bottle…) we headed out to Gays Mills and apple cider and fresh apples and peak fall foliage*.

This year Tim and I wanted to take Gabe out to Gays Mills because not only are we suckers for fresh apple cider, but we wanted to enjoy our memories of last year and share a special place with Gabe. Last weekend the three of us solidified our newest family tradition by making a day trip out there. Tim and I had an absolute blast, sampling all the local apple-icious goodies and buying enough apples to keep the kitchen filled with the smell of applesauce and apple kuchen and cinnamon. I’m going to venture a guess that most of the sentimentality went over Gabe’s head, but it’s all good, since he really REALLY liked the cider.

(*Oh, and if you read the link above this will make sense: I did not forget my camera this time, but I was too busy trying to keep Gabe out of everything that I didn’t have a chance to use it! **Also, the title of this post relates to the tag for this post,… I have that Fiddler on the Roof song stuck in my head!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

