Skip to content

Waiting for Three

November 13, 2007

There’s a common wisdom that troubles come in threes. I’d imagine this is something of a self-fulfilling prophecy, since people tend to look for trouble when they’re expecting it, and when you look for something, you often find it!

I can’t help but think of that proverb myself at the moment. Yesterday was a really scary day for me. Gabe had a fever that hit quick and got real high (103.7 at bedtime, between doses of tylenol and motrin). When it hit 104 degrees I gave him a lukewarm bath and did everything I could to keep him comfy, since that’s what the nurse on call told us to do.

His fever broke early this morning, and he seems to be a bit wobbly this morning, but just fine. I’m so glad that he’s doing better!

Tim is also doing better. He’s still taking his pain meds, but he doesn’t creep quite as slowly as he was last week, and he helped me take care of Gabe so much yesterday. The doctor is keeping Tim off work this week as well, and Tim’s starting to feel well enough to enjoy his time off more. Right now he’s watching The Two Towers (Lord of the Rings 2) and eating a fudge bar while sitting in the recliner with his feet up:o)

One other thing. Since Tim is still not quite his normal self, we don’t think we’ll be heading up to see our families this Thanksgiving, and I’ve never missed that before. I’m going to do my best to make all the goodies for us here, but I just know it won’t be the same. Tim also won’t be going hunting this year. Since he can’t go to work it’s really not even an option to think he could climb a tree.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

