Skip to content

The More I Clean, The Messier Things Get

November 28, 2007

I owe you all new pictures, since I said I’d upload them a couple of days ago. I also need to update here (which is what I’m doing now) since I’ve neglected that too. For the pictures, I have to wait until Gabe is sleeping, since he LOVES to yank on the camera cord, and lately I’ve been using his naptime for other things.

This past weekend I got our the Christmas decorations out of storage. I’m a fairly sentimental person, and this shows in the stuff we’ve saved over the years. I found an ornament that I painted Tim from our first Christmas and an engraved ornament from my little brother Daniel that was a gift at our wedding. I have a Mr. and Mrs. Claus that Gloria gave us because she always puts up her own, and she hoped we’d enjoy continuing that tradition. I have ornaments celebrating Gabe’s first Christmas, and a few silly ones like the pickle that’s a secret hide and seek game with a prize for the finder.

Getting all of this fun stuff out and displayed was a bit of a chore, since our storage has been a mess for,… well,… almost as long as we’ve lived here. It doesn’t help that we have baby stuff we want to hang on to for whenever Gabe gets a sibling, or that I’ve got a massive sewing/craft collection. After finding what I needed, the mess left behind motivated me to clean and organize everything – Tim actually asked if I was nesting, but I think that’s a third trimester thing, so I’m not rushing out for a pregnancy test yet!

Nobody would guess I’m cleaning if they stopped to visit my house though. I’ve got totes and stuff all over the cupboards (waiting to be organized or reorganized) and I’m going just a little crazy, but I can’t do anything until I finish the first job. That may just take a little while though, since I’m feeling like I was run over by a dump truck!

So, no pictures because I’ve been cleaning non-stop. Hopefully pictures soon, either because I’m under the weather and can’t clean, or because I finish cleaning. Wish me luck!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2007 6:15 am

    no matter how badly you want to be organized, and how much you look forward to the end result, it always seems like such a chore; leastwise for me. my attention span won’t let me finish things in a timely manner. when I find something that belongs in another room, I take it there, then I inevitably see something in there that needs my attention, which leads me to another room…anyway, it sounds like you’re better at that kind of thing than I am. good for you, care to show me a trick or two? 😀

  2. November 30, 2007 8:46 am

    Sure! Come for a visit and I’ll even cook for you! :o)

  3. December 7, 2007 11:03 am

    We still have our storage containers all over the garage. I haven’t parked in the garage ever since we got out the decorations. It’s a mess. But I am waiting to reorganize the garage and then that will lead me to cleaning the car out..but wait I need to….

Leave a Reply

