Skip to content

Easter: The Good, the Great, and the VERY SCARY

March 24, 2008

The Good: My family came up to spend Easter weekend here, which is the first time we’ve been able to get together since Christmas. They got to see how much Gabe has changed in three months, plus I got presents! We were able to finally “Ooooh” and “Ahhhh” over Mom’s engagement ring and I FINALLY got to hug Mom! Also, my Grandma sent really yummy lemon bars and cookies, so it was just a warm and fuzzy time all around.

The Great: I managed to wrestle my little brother Danny to the floor and tickle him relentlessly. Trust me, he deserved it! We’d probably be wrestling still, except that somehow we accidentally knocked a lamp over, and that reminded me that I’m supposed to be a responsible adult. I got the chance to talk to Becca, and kind of bond a bit, and I treasure that moment. Then I got to try on my bridesmaid (bridesmatron?) dress for Mom’s wedding, and it’s absolutely beautiful! Plus I may already have pink sandals that look like they were dyed to match, which would be kind of cool, since I picked them up for five dollars on clearance.

The VERY SCARY: On our way back from dinner Saturday night, we got a call from my brother John. He had been in a bit of an accident, and had lost the sight in one of his eyes because blood was filling the cornea. It really was hard to know that John was in trouble and not be able to do more to help, since we were all three hours away. Thankfully my brother Tom was there to rush John to the ER, and as of this moment, he’s recovered most of the sight in that eye. Mom and Jim were ready to rush home that night if it could have helped John, but since Tom was taking such good care of him they stayed until Sunday morning, although they did leave before lunch.

Apparently one of John’s stupid idiot nincompoop roommates thought it would be funny to whip a small plastic cat toy at John. Unfortunately John didn’t see it coming until too late, and it hit his eye. Now that John’s okay, I can’t help but think of the saying “it’s all fun n’ games until someone loses an eye.” It just goes to prove that Mama absolutely knows best!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2008 8:18 am

    finally, you get to see your mama! glad y’all had a good time. how is your brother’s eye coming along?

Leave a Reply

