Skip to content

Friday Night Traditions

April 4, 2008

In a little less than a half hour, Tim will be done with work for the week. He’ll give me a call to let me know he’s on his way home, and he’ll sing the “Done Song” to me. This song consists of one word – can you guess what that word is? Despite the simplicity of the song, it is one of my absolute favorites, and has been ever since it became a Friday night tradition here at our house.

“Done done done, done done done, done-da-done-done-done-done-done.”

Tim’s dad had a similar tradition before he retired: he made sure to listen to the radio playing the Hamster Dance and The Scotsman songs every Friday evening – preferably with a beer in hand. It was interesting for me, as a newcomer to the family, to see how everyone tuned into the radio and chatter ceased for a few minutes. It was as if those songs kicked off a weekend-long celebration.

I’m not sure if 20 years from now we’ll still be celebrating with the Done Song, but I hope we still see the start of a weekend and time together as something to notice and get excited about.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 11:57 am

    I reckon every area has their own traditional friday songs, the station I grew up with favored todd rundgren’s ‘bang on the drum all day’. I had to look for the ‘scotsman’s song’ and let me tell you, it’s a new favorite here at casa de hockett. I downloaded it and tony listens to it all the time now.

Leave a Reply

