Skip to content

My Luna Moth

May 20, 2008

Outside My Kitchen Window

Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

I woke up this morning to find this beautiful stranger hanging onto the screen outside my kitchen window. Based on a book I remember reading way back when I first started reading, I know we’ve found a relatively rare Luna Moth.

I’m not a fan of bugs in general, but I’ll make an exception for this one. I especially love the fan-like antennae, but I can’t help but marvel at the twig-like legs and the overall leafy appearance of this bug. Come this evening I’m going to try to catch a glimpse of it in flight:o)

Check out my Flickr photos for more pictures, including two rather blurry photos of Luna’s underside (the screen kept screwing with my auto focus).

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 21, 2008 7:14 pm

    those things are so pretty. we found one on mama’s deck a couple of years ago. great pics!

Leave a Reply

