Skip to content

My Memorial Weekend Project

May 27, 2008



All Things Bright and Beautiful

Originally uploaded by timmyheather.

For Valentine’s Day, I wanted to paint something special for Tim. I also wanted it to fit the color scheme in our living room, which is primarily browns and neutral colors, but with a hint of warm reds and pinks and a touch of black here and there.

The painting that I came up with was so bad I didn’t even bother to take a picture of it. I left it up on my wall for months, not because I liked it, but rather because I was at my wit’s end at how to fix it. Finally, this weekend I decided to get creative.

First I completely erased my previous work by painting the entire canvas black. After letting that dry for a day, I took shimmery, thick paints and had a bit of fun. The flower was pretty, but I think the gold accents really made the painting. Also, the fun border really adds alot.

So now I finally have a painting that looks really nice on my living room wall, it’s something I like looking at, and best of all, Tim likes it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 31, 2008 5:17 pm

    I love the contrast! black is so sharp, and the vivid pink and green against it is really pretty. and I love love love ‘time marches on’

Leave a Reply

